Red text = updated within the last 48h.
If you're looking for anything in particular, hit ctrl+f to search on the page.
This FAQ is unofficial unless noted otherwise. Should there ever be an official FAQ released, this one will be updated to match whatever is in it, and still keep questions not covered there.
Is experience (XP) shared or kept individually? XP is collected into, and used from, one shared pile.
What constitutes an "adjacent tile"? Tiles are adjacent when they are connected orthogonally, never diagonally. Tiles are NOT adjacent if they are separated by a complete wall, i.e. either tile has all 4 squares on its connecting side filled black. Example of tiles (A) adjacent to tile B:
How do monsters move? Monsters move in tiles. Moving 1 tile means moving to any space on any of the up to four adjacent tiles (remember, tiles are only adjacent orthogonally, not diagonally, see above)
What does "within 1 tile" mean? Within 1 tile means either on the same tile or an adjacent one, also known as "up to one tile away". Similarily, within 2 tiles means on the same tile, an adjacent tile or a tile adjacent to an adjacent tile.
Can Heroes/Monsters move/attack diagonally?
Consider the above image. The center of the image is where 4 tiles meet, so what we're seeing is the corners of 4 tiles A-D, and the 4 corner squares are numbered 1-4. - Tile A is adjacent to tile B and tile C, but not to tile D (adjacency for tiles is only orthogonally, never diagonally). - A Spider on 1 can bite a Hero on 2, 3 and 4 (squares are always adjacent, also across tiles). - A Spider on A can web any hero on B and C, but not on D. - A Spider can move 1 tile from A to B, or from A to C. - A Spider can move 2 tiles from A to D. - A Hero on 1 can move 1 square to 2, 3 and 4 (a Hero's regular movement doesn't care about tiles, only squares). - A Hero on 1 can "attack one adjacent Monster" on 2, 3 and 4. (e.g. Deep Cut) - A Hero on A can "attack one Monster on your tile" on A, not on B, C or D. (e.g. Divine Flare) - A Hero on A can "attack one Monster 1 tile away" on B and C, not on A or D. (e.g. Fireball) - A Hero on A can "attack one Monster within 1 tile" on A, B or C, but not on D. (e.g. Lance of Faith) - A Hero on A can "attack one Monster within 2 tiles" on A, B, C or D. (e.g. Hunter's Shot)
How many healing surges do you start with? You usually start with 2 healing surges total, no matter the number of Heroes playing. If you want an easier game, add surges. Or for a harder game (gasp!) start with fewer.
I have lots of stuff in the box (Adventure Treasures, Monster Tokens, Coffins, etc) that I don't know what is for! Am I missing part of the rules? Nope. These are Adventure specific things, and will be explained in the Adventure if you need them.
Do you get XP for killing a villain? No. (unconfirmed)
What does "deeper into the dungeon" mean? Further away from the Start Tile.
Does levelling restore your Hit Points? No. You gain 2 extra Hit Points, but you do not remove any of your previous hits taken. The intention is to take HP counters for Hit Points lost. However if you decide to instead play with a "pool" of hit points, and discard tokens when you get hit, you need to regain 2 HP when levelling. Either way works fine, just make sure everyone around the table knows what system you are using.
Are you supposed to use all the Dungeon Tiles for each Adventure? Unless the specific Adventure tells you otherwise, you're supposed to use ALL the Dungeon Tiles. Usually you have a "Quest tile" for that specific Adventure that is placed under a set number of tiles, and the rest of the tiles are placed under the Quest Tile in the pile. Drawing from the bottom of the stack is supposed to be a hindrance, not a shortcut.
Do you use all the tiles for each Adventure, or only the non-named ones? All tiles are used in an Adventure, unless specifically stated in the text for that particular Adventure.
When attacks hit multiple targets, do you roll only once and use that number for each target, or roll separately for each target? Each attack is rolled separately. So for example if Immeril uses his Fireball on a tile with 2 Monsters, you roll the die for each of the 2 Monsters. So it's possible to hit both, none or just one of the Monsters. (rules, page 9, "Making an Attack")
When ending your Hero Phase on the corner space of a tile so that you are adjacent to two unexplored edges, do you reveal two new tiles during your Exploration Phase? No, always one tile, and you don't have the choice of not exploring.
What's the difference between a Monster and a Villain? Does this power let me attack Villains? Does this Encounter affect a Villain? etc The basics here are simple, Monsters come from the Monster Deck, while Villains have their own thick sheets like Heroes. But all powers say "attack 1 Monster" and similar, and surely you are supposed to be able to attack Villains with these powers. So here's how we think it can all make sense: - Villain means only the creatures that have their own Villain tile, e.g. Count Strahd and Gravestorm. - Monsters refer to creatures both on a Villain tile and on Monster Cards. - Monster Cards are only the cards in the Monster Deck, like the Skeleton and the Wraith. - This ensures all Powers make sense, as they all refer to Monster. - This means you are also entitled to a Treasure when you defeat a Villain, as the rules say you get a Treasure card if you defeat a Monster. - Encounters that affect Monsters, would also affect Villains, e.g. Teleporting Glyph and Circle of Death. - Encounters that affect "Monsters you control" would not affect Villains, as they are not under any one player's control, e.g. Voice of the Master. - Zombies do one extra damage per Monster on the tile, so that would include Villains. - When defeating Monsters you get XP by placing its Monster Card in the XP pile. Since Villains don't have cards, they don't give any XP.
Does Slowed/Immobilized affect your ability to attack? No. You can still attack when you are Slowed or Immobilized, they only affect your movement.
How do Monsters and Villains react when all Heroes are at 0 hp? Heroes that are knocked out are not considered when checking Monster tactics, so all regular Monsters will just stand still. There are some Villains who might still act though, like Klak.
Castle Ravenloft-specific questions
Adventure 2: When the Chapel tile is drawn, the Adventure rules say that each player should draw a Monster and place it on the Chapel. Is this in addition to the normal Monster placed? Yes. (unconfirmed)
Adventure 2: After finding the Chapel, each player is instructed to draw an Encounter card at the start of their Villain phase. Is this card in addition to the one you normally draw when not exploring a new tile? Yes. (unconfirmed)
Do coffins block movement? This has been a highly debated issue over on BGG, and there have been valid points from both sides. I won't list them all here, but WotC Customer Support says "coffins block movement". If they ment just the coffin tokens, or even the coffin spaces, is anyone's guess. Personally, I don't like the answer, especially since it can cause some unwinnable scenarios and trapped monsters.
List of components There are a couple of mismatches between the components listed in the rules and what's actually supposed to be in the box: 5 Adventure Cards = 10 Adventure Treasure Cards 50 Treasure Cards = 45 Treasure Cards 10 Monster Damage Tokens = 10 Monster HP Tokens 12 Trap and Power markers = 10 Encounter Tokens + 1 Adventure Marker + 1 Item Marker
Adventure 8 The Adventure refers to 25 Crypt tiles (with Skull symbol), but there are 27 of these tiles.